Fluxus

I’m in Europe now (well, almost. Non-EU Europe). Really happy to be back in Ísland, something felt really right being back here. I forgot the community and the overall cuteness of the place. The thing about being in Iceland though, is it means I’m nearly home. While there’s people I miss dearly that I’m edited to see, I’m nervous. The same nerves I have about wanting to move to Chicago – I don’t know if I can handle the politics of the place anymore.

I left a secular country, which is now a Christian country.

I left a country who believed in looking after everyone back to one where politicians suggest that the disabled should work under minimum wage and the unemployed should work for free in Tesco’s.

I left a country that was part of the EU and am returning to one that might not be for much longer.

 

I was worried when David Cameron became PM. Sure, as a young lefty liberal that was gonna happen. The thing is, there’s politicians who come in and nothing changes, and those that make changes. David is the second one, and he’s destroying so many things I respect the UK for. I feel like right now, the Tories feel so empowered after the last election, they feel the majority is on their side and they can say what ever the fuck they want.

We need something different. I can’t call this place my home soon with the way things are going. When protesters like occupy end up on terror lists, you know our freedoms are being curtailed (even if you don’t support occupy, terrorists?) As sad as I am to say this, but more and more, I want an independent Scotland. We still have our heads on and feet in reality there.

In the meantime: YAY ICELAND I LOVE YOU AND YOUR CRAZY CONSTITUTION BUILDING WAYS AND PEOPLE POWER. AND SKÝR AND KLEINUR!

Leave a Reply

