“You know you’ve read a good book when you turn the last page and feel a little as if you have lost a friend.”

I’ve been rather distracted recently but it’s the holidays now and I really just want to read as much as possible. I own far too many books that I haven’t read, so I’m going to try make a list of them and guilt myself into reading them (though, I’m doing this by memory, so I might forget a few…)

The Unbearable Lightness of Being – Milan Kundera (reading just now)
Wittgenstein’s Poker (almost finished!)
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance – Robert Pirsig
Being and Nothingness – Jean-Paul Sartre
The Origin of Species – Charles Darwin
The Coma – Alex Garland
A Treatise of Human Nature – David Hume
Human, All Too Human – Friedrich Nietzsche
Non-Places: An Introduction to Supermodernity – Marc Auge
Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Doestoyevski
Faust – Goethe (need to learn German first…)
Svo Skal Dansa – Bjarni Harðarson (need to learn Icelandic. I’ll never manage this one…)
On The Road – Jack Kerouac
The Art of Looking Sideways
Art and Text
The Autobiography of Bertrand Russell
Various art/design/film books I’ve borrowed/stolen over the years
No Logo – Naomi Klein (about halfway through…)
The Divine Comedy – Dante
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man – James Joyce
Vile Bodies – Evelyn Waugh
The Fall of the House of Usher and Other Writings – Edgar Allan Poe
The Complete Short Fiction of Oscar Wilde
Freedom – Johnathan Franzen
The Communist Manifesto (I feel really bad that I’ve not read it all the way through yet, though I think I was about 16 last time I tried…)

I’m sure that’s not an exhaustive list, but I’m hoping there’s not much more I have to add to it. I’ve got to stop buying books and use libraries…

Leave a Reply

